Fushimi Inari taisha Shrine Highlights (Senbon Torii)

Fushimi Inari taisha Shrine Highlights

The information about Fushimi Inari taisha Shrine Highlights is presented here. Fushimi Inari taisha Shrine has a number of highlights, including Honden (Main shrine), Senbon Torii, and Koma-Gitsune, but Honden and Senbon Torii are the two that must be seen. Honden enshrines Inari-no-Okami, the deity of Fushimi Inari Taisha, and should be visited first. Senbon Torii is popular with tourists from Japan and abroad and can be crowded at times, but it is definitely worth seeing. If you have time, let’s climb Mt. Inari-yama as well.

Fushimi Inari taisha Shrine (location,history)

【Honden (Main shrine, 本殿)】

Honden (Important Cultural Property) is said to have been rebuilt in 1494 or 1499. Nai-Haiden (inner worship hall, 内拝殿) in front of the main hall was built in 1961. Honden enshrines Ukanomitama-no-Okami, Omiyanome-no-Okami,Satahiko-no-Okami, Sadahiko-no-Okami, Tanaka-no-Okami, and Shi-no-Okamii, and the five gods are also called Inari-no-Okami (Inari God). Honden is divided into inner and outer sanctuaries, with the inner sanctuary having a Goutenjo ceiling and the outer sanctuary having a Kogumi ceiling, with beautiful carvings under the eaves.

【Senbon Torii (Senbon Torii Gates, 千本鳥居)】

Senbon Torii is divided into two rows on the left and right, densely built about 70 meters long. In Senbon Torii, less than 1,000 torii gates were built, about 860. The dedication of torii gates began in the Edo period (1603-1867) and is said to have flourished thereafter. In the “Fushimi Inari Taisha Picture Map (伏見稲荷大社絵図)” of Azuchi-Momoyama period(1573-1603), one torii gate is drawn on each of the front and back approaches, and In the “Miyako Meisho Zue (都名所図会)” of 1780, depicts a group of torii gates.

【Koma-Gitsune (Koma-Kitsune, Guardian Foxes, 狛狐)】

Koma-Gitsune are enshrined instead of Koma-Inu (Guardian Dogs). Kitsune (Foxes) are believed to be the servants of Inari-no-Okami (Inari God). However, these are not the foxes that live in the fields and mountains, but invisible, transparent white foxes. Koma-Gitsune hold ears of rice, scroll, bead (hoju), and key in their mouths. The ear of rice is derived from the fact that Inari-no-Okami (Inari God). is the god of agriculture. The scroll symbolizes wisdom. The bead (hoju) symbolizes the spiritual virtues of Inari-no-Okami (Inari God), and the key symbolizes the desire to acquire these virtues.

【Gonden (権殿)】

Gonden (Important Cultural Property) is said to have been built in 1635 or 1639. Gonden was used as a temporary shrine for the spirit of Inari-no-Okami (Inari God) when Honden (Main shrine) was being repaired. Gonden is a temporary shrine that is one size smaller than the main shrine and is called Wakamiya (若宮).

【Ge-Haiden (Outer worship hall, 外拝殿)】

Ge-Haiden (Important Cultural Property) was built in 1589 and is said to have been rebuilt in 1840. At Ge-Haiden, events and dedication ceremonies such as Kenka-sai (Flower Offering Festival) and Setsubun-sai (Setsubun Festival) are held, and during Inari-sai (Inari Festival), 5 mikoshi (portable shrines) to which the spirit of Inari-no-Okami (Inari God) was transferred are enshrined.

【Ro-mon (Ro-mon Gate, Tower Gate, 楼門)】

Ro-mon (Important Cultural Property) was rebuilt in 1589 by Hideyoshi Toyotomi, who prayed for the recovery of his mother’s illness. In 1973, during the dismantling and repair of Ro-mon, an ink inscription of “Tensho 17 (1589)” from Kashiranuki was found, which was the same as the prayer. Ro-mon is the main gate of Fushimi Inari Taisha Shrine, and is flanked on both sides by Zuijin which protect the shrine.

【Okugu (奥宮)】

Okugu (Important Cultural Property) was built during the Momoyama period (1583-1603). Okugu enshrines Inari-no-Okami (Inari God). Okugu is said to be Kami-sha, or a building related to Kami-sha, when Fushimi Inari taisha Shrine consisted of three separate shrines, Shimo-sha, Naka-sha, and Kami-sha.

【Byako-sha (白狐社)】

Byako-sha (Important Cultural Property) was built in 1694. Bako-sha enshrines Myobutome-no-kami. Bako-sha is the only shrine enshrined to the spirit of Byako (white fox). Byako-sha is said to have originated in Akomachi, the subordinate shrine of Shimo-sha, when Fushimi Inari taisha Shrine consisted of three separate shrines, Shimo-sha, Naka-sha, and Kami-sha.

【Ochaya (御茶屋)】

Ochaya (御茶屋, Important Cultural Property) was built in the Sento Gosho during the early Edo period (1603-1868), and was given to Hakura Nobutsugu in 1641 by the 108th Emperor Go-Mizunoo. The Sento Gosho is the palace where the abdicated emperor resides, also known as the In-Gosho.

【Other Highlights】

★Omokaru-ishi (おもかる石) is the Kurin of a stone lantern. There are two pairs of Omokaru-ishi (stone lanterns), and it does not matter which one is lifted. It is said that if you lift Omokaru-ishi (Kurin) and feel lighter than expected, your wish will come true, and if you feel heavier, your wish will not come true.
★Mt. Inari-yama (稲荷山) is the southernmost of Higashiyama Sanjuroppou (the 36 peaks of Higashiyama), a sacred mountain about 233 meters above sea level. Mt. Inari has also been called Mitsugamine since ancient times, and it rises gradually from west to east. The 3 peaks are called San-no-mine, Ni-no-mine, and Ichi-no-mine, starting from the peak closest to the main shrine, and there is an Aida-no-mine (intermediate peak) in the middle between San-no-mine and Ni-no-mine. The cedars distributed on Mt. Inari-yama are considered sacred trees. Oyama Meguri is a circuit from Ichi-no-mine to the San-no-mine of Mt. Inari-yama. Oyama Meguri is about 4 km long and takes from 1 to 2 hours, depending on the individual. In Mt. Inari-yama, there are not only torii, but also nearly 10,000 mounds, small shrines and etc.

National treasures, important cultural properties, and other cultural assets may be closed to the public.


  1. 錦市場(Nishiki Market)
  2. 竹林の道(Bamboo Forest Path)
  3. 嵐山