Gozan Okuribi Schedule (August 16th, 2024)

Gozan Okuribi Schedule

The schedule of Gozan Okuribi (Gozan no Okuribi, Bonfire) is presented here. Gozan Okuribi is held every year on the evening of August 16th. Gozan Okuribi is a Buddhist event that send back the spirits of the dead (Oshoraisan) who have returned from the afterlife during Obon (Bon) festival.

【Gozan Okuribi 2024 Schedule (confirmation required)】

Gozan Okuribi 2024 will be held on Friday, August 16th, 2024 at 20:00. Daimonji will be lit at 20:00, MyoHo at 20:05, Funagata at 20:10, Hidari Daimonji at 20:15, and Toriigata at 20:20. Daimonji, MyoHo, Funagata, Hidari Daimonji, and Toriigata all burn for about 30 minutes after ignition. In principle, Gozan Okuribi is held rain or shine, but the ignition time is subject to change depending on weather conditions.

【Gozan Okuribi(五山送り火) map】

Gozan Okuribi is held on 5 mountains located from northeast to northwest when viewed from Kyoto Station. (MyoHo is counted as one mountain.) In terms of direction, Daimonji is Ginkakuji Temple, MyoHo is Matsugasaki Subway Station, Funagata is Kamigamo Shrine, Hidari Daimonji is Kinkakuji Temple, and the Torigatata is Arashiyama as landmarks.

【Daimonji (大文字) 20:00 Ignition Gozan Okuribi】

There is a theory that Daimonji was started in the early Heian-jidai period (794-1185) by Kobo-daishi Kukai, the founder of the Shingon sect, another theory that it was started in the middle of Muromachi-jidai period (1336-1573) by Ashikaga Yoshimasa, the 8th shogun of the Muromachi Shogunate, and another theory that it was started in the early Edo-jidai period (1603-1868) by a court nobleman Konoe Nobutada.

  • Location: Jodoji, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto・Mt. Daimonji-yama (about 466 meters above sea level)
  • Size: The longest is about 160 meters, and the others are about 120 meters and 80 meters.
  • Viewing Spots: West side of Kamo-gawa River bank (between Misono Bridge and Marutamachi Bridge), around Kamogawa Delta (Demachiyanagi Delta), etc.

Daimonji (大文字) Viewing Spots

【MyoHo (妙法) 20:05 Ignition Gozan Okuribi】

★Myo is said to have been started in the end of Kamakura-jidai period (1185-1333) by Nichizo Shonin, a monk of the Nichiren sect.

  • Location: Matsugasaki, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto・Mt. Mantoro-yama (about 133 meters above sea level)
  • Size: The longest is about 93 meters, and the others are about 70 meters, 55 meters, etc.
  • Viewing Spots: Kitayama-dori (between Kyoto Notre Dame University and Matsugasaki Station), around Takaraike Driving School, etc.

★Ho is said to have been started in Edo-jidai period (1603-1868) by Nichiryo Shonin, a monk of Daimyoji Temple.

  • Location: Matsugasaki, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto・Mt. Daikokuten-yama (about 187 meters above sea level)
  • Size: The longest is about 75 meters, and the others are about 62 meters, 48 meters, 42 meters, etc.
  • Viewing Spots: Kitayama-dori (between Matsugasaki Station and Kyoto Institute of Technology), around Matsugasaki Water Purification Plant, etc.

MyoHo (妙法) Viewing Spots

【Funagata (船形) 20:10 Ignition Gozan Okuribi】

There is a theory that Funagata was started in the early Heian-jidai period (794-1185) by Jikaku Daishi Ennin, a monk of the Tendai sect and the 3rd of Tendai-zasu, another theory that it was held in 910 as the first Obon (Ni-Bon) festival memorial service for the dead after an epidemic spread that year, and there is a theory that it began with a Lantern Boat that was a custom in various places.

  • Location: Nishigamo, Kita-ku, Kyoto・Mt. Funa-yama (about 317 meters above sea level)
  • Size: about 130 meters in length, about 200 meters in width, and about 93 meters in sailpole
  • Viewing Spots: East side of Kamo-gawa River bank (between Misono Bridge and Kitaoji Bridge), Funaokayama Park, etc.

Funagata (船形) Viewing Spots

【Hidari Daimonji (左大文字) 20:15 Ignition Gozan Okuribi】

Hidari Daimonji is believed to have started after the middle of Edo-jidai period (1603-1868). Hidari Daimonjii is not mentioned in “Rakuyo-Meishosyu” of 1658, but is mentioned in “Fuso Keikaishi” of 1665. Hidari Daimonji is smaller in size than Daimonji.

  • Location: Ohkitayama, Kita-ku, Kyoto・Mt. Hidari Daimonji-yama (about 231 meters above sea level)
  • Size: The longest is about 68 meters, and the others are about 59 meters and 48 meters.
  • Viewing Spots: Nishioji-dori (between around Kinkaku-ji Temple and Sai-in), Wara-tenjin Shrine, etc.

Hidari Daimonji (左大文字) Viewing Spots

【Toriigata (鳥居形) 20:20 Ignition Gozan Okuribi】

There is a theory that Toriigata was started in the early Heian-jidai period (794-1185) by Kobo-daishi Kukai, the founder of the Shingon sect, another theory that it was burned as a lantern for Fushimi Inari Taisha Shrine, and that Toriimoto is the approach to Atago Shrine and is related to Atago Shrine.

  • Location: Saga-Toriimoto, Ukyo-ku, Kyoto・Mt. Mandara-yama (about 100 meters above sea level)
  • Size: about 76 meters in length and 72 meters in width
  • Viewing Spots: Togetsu Bridge, Nakanoshima area of Arashiyama Park, Kokuzohorin-ji Temple, Arashiyama Higashi Park, Hirosawa Pond, etc.

Toriigata (鳥居形) Viewing Spots

【Gozan Okuribi history and brief overview】

Gozan Okuribi (Gozan no Okuribi, Bonfire) is a Buddhist event that send back the spirits of the dead (Oshoraisan) who have returned from the afterlife during Obon (Bon) festival. It is not clear when the Gozan Okuribi began. One theory is that during Sengoku-jidai period (1493-1590), lanterns for Manto-e to commemorate Buddhas and Gods began to be held on the mountainside, and then it was changed to Obon festival bonfire. The oldest document that describes Gozan Okuribi is “Keicho Nikkenroku” written by court nobleman Funabashi Hidekata. “Keicho Nikkenroku” is recorded that on July 16th, 1603, lights were burned in the mountains and seen on the eastern riverbank. However, no specifics are noted. The oldest document that specifically mentions Daimonji, Myoho, and Funagata is “Annaisha (Guide)” by the haiku poet Nakagawa Kiun, published in 1662. The oldest document that specifically mentions Hidari Daimonji is “Fuso Kyokashi” by Matsuno Genkei, published in 1665. The oldest document that specifically mentions Toriigata is “Okinagusaa” by essayist Kanzawa Teikan , published in 1791.

【remarks】
Always check with the organizer for event information. Information on this site is for reference only. Contents of the event may have changed.
五山送り火2024

京都観光おすすめ

  1. 錦市場(Nishiki Market)
  2. 竹林の道(Bamboo Forest Path)
  3. 嵐山
ページ上部へ戻る